Skip to Content

Stamps 2022 Commencement Celebration

The Stamps 2022 Commencement Celebration will take place from 2:00 — 4:00 pm on Saturday, April 30 at the North Campus Research Complex in Building 18, following the main University of Michigan Commencement Ceremony held at Michigan Stadium from 10:00 — 11:45 am.

For the first time since 2019, the celebration will be an in-person event featuring short speeches by graduating undergraduate and graduate students and a commencement address by visual arts educator and alumnus Senghor Reid.

Stamps School of Art & Design Commencement
April 30, 2022 at 2:00 pm
North Campus Research Complex (NCRC)
2800 Plymouth Road, Building 18

Commencement Speaker: Senghor Reid

Portrait of Senghor Reid, wearing a dark suit

Senghor Reid (BFA 99) returns to his alma mater to deliver an inspiring address for graduates of the Penny W. Stamps School of Art & Design at the University of Michigan. Reid earned a BFA from U‑M, as well as a Masters of Teaching in Art Education from Wayne State University, and attended the internationally recognized Marathon Program at the New York Studio School of Drawing, Painting, and Sculpture.

Reid is the Chair of the Fine Arts Department at Cranbrook Kingswood Upper School, and is a National Board Certified Visual Arts Educator. He is a practicing artist and has received many awards including the Kresge Foundation’s Kresge Arts in Detroit Visual Artist Fellowship prize and the prestigious Michigan Governor’s Award for Emerging Artist. Reid’s work has been exhibited in the U.S. and abroad in galleries and museums including the Museum of Contemporary Art Detroit, Kentler International Drawing Space in New York, St. Catharine Museum in Canada, and the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture in New York. His work is in many private, public, and corporate art collections.

Congratulations Stamps Class of 2022, over a colored background with graphics of students throwing their mortarboards in the air

Master of Design in Integrative Design

  • Mikayla Buford
  • Sarah Margaret Miles
  • Kendell Miller-Roberts
  • Stephanie Szemetylo

Master of Fine Arts in Art

  • Nicholas Angelo Azzaro
  • martha eklund daghlian
  • Razi Jafri
  • Natalia Rocafuerte
  • Ellie Schmidt
  • Kristina Rae Sheufelt
  • Georgia b. Smith

Bachelor of Fine Arts

Bachelor of Arts

  • Eman Azrak
  • Miguel Alberto Burelli
  • George William Castle
  • Deeya Chaturvedi
  • Dallin Benson Deem
  • Regina Egan
  • Alexis Carol Felcher
  • Kristi June Fleckenstein
  • Myka Flint
  • Allegra Forman
  • Sara Groenke
  • Gabrielle Olivia Healy
  • Mackenzie Mae Hewitt
  • Chloe Alexis Hooker
  • Tong Hu
  • Younji Jin
  • Carolina Jones
  • Aditi Kannan
  • Taylor Kelly
  • Kyungrim Kim
  • Min Joo Kim
  • Lauren Kathleen Lampar
  • Angélique Moira Lemrow
  • Sohyun Lim
  • Rachel Liu
  • Shaquim Frederick Lowe
  • Abbigale Rose Mancuso
  • Juan Vicente Marco
  • Isabel Claire Maternowski
  • Elliot Melk
  • Juliette Sage Meyers
  • Rori Eliza Xiaoli Miller
  • Christine S. Park
  • Erica Poon
  • Abigail Valentine Rankin
  • Abigail Seguin
  • Seung Jae Shin
  • Sara Spillman
  • Morgan Rae Tucker
  • Sydney Gabrielle Weinberg
  • Shannon Mai Zheng
  • Agnes Zylstra

Bachelor of Fine Arts Interarts Performance