Skip to Content
Quilt art of visualizing the 5 pillars of Islam

5 Pillars of Islam

Kecia Escoe

Cotton, beads, and cotton floss, 2021

The five pillars of Islam: Shahada (declaration of faith), Salaat (prayer), Zakat (almsgiving), Sawm (fasting), and Hajj (pilgrimage to Mecca). To the side are individual scenes of some rituals that take place during the pilgrimage. From left to right, they are: tawaaf (circling the Kaaba seven times in a counterclockwise direction), sa’iy (walking seven times between the hills of Safa and Marwah), praying on Mount Arafat (Mount of Knowledge/ Introduction), Ramy al-Jamarat (stoning of the devil at Mina), praying and sleeping at Muzdalifah (open area between Mina and Arafat), nahr (sacrifice of an animal), and halq or taqsir (shaving or trimming the hair). For more information and sales:

More Information >