Skip to Content

Stamps Students, Faculty, and Staff Honored at the 2022 MLK Spirit Awards

MLK NC Banner Asset 3 scaled

Many Stamps students, faculty, and staff were celebrated for their commitment to the ideals set forth by Dr. Martin Luther King at the 2022 North Campus Deans’ MLK Spirit Awards held on January 17, 2022. Congratulations to all the award recipients and nominees for earning this important honor, and many thanks to each of them for their support of creating a culture of diversity, equity, and inclusion on campus. 

Student Award Recipients

  • Shalin Berman
  • Mikayla Buford
  • Moteniola Ogundipe

Student Nominees

  • Xochi Sanchez (Penny W. Stamps School of Art & Design)
  • Seung Jae Shin (Penny W. Stamps School of Art & Design)

Student Organization Award Recipient

  • Stamps in Color

Faculty Award Recipients

  • Melanie Manos
  • Rebekah Modrak

Faculty Nominees

  • Ron Eglash
  • Heidi Kumao
  • Nick Tobier

Staff Award Recipient

  • Brian Banks

Staff Nominee

  • John Luther

The North Campus Deans’ MLK Spirit Awards are given to students, student organizations, staff, and faculty in North Campus schools and colleges at the University of Michigan who exemplify the leadership and vision of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. through their commitment to social justice, diversity, equity, and inclusion, including within the context of the pandemic and our reignited sense of urgency to address root causes of social injustice.

The annual awards are hosted by the Penny W. Stamps School of Art & Design and other North Campus academic units in collaboration with ArtsEngine and the Duderstadt Center as part of U‑M’s MLK Symposium to honor and commemorate the life and legacy of Dr. King.

Read more about this annual event and watch the ceremony here.