Skip to Content

2019 Undergraduate Juried Exhibition Award Winners

The Penny W. Stamps School of Art & Design’s 2019 Undergraduate Juried Exhibition, featuring the exceptional works of our undergraduate students in art and design, was celebrated on Friday, November 22 with a reception in the school’s downtown Stamps Gallery.

The jurors for the exhibition – artist, curator, and filmmaker Parisa Ghaderi (MFA ‘14), photographer and installation artist Cynthia Greig, and artist Cosmo Whyte (MFA ‘15) – selected 62 of the 243 works submitted for inclusion in the exhibition. Of those 62, the jurors recognized twelve works (featured below) with awards.

Alexandria Pompei (BFA ‘20), Firenze
Alice Elizabeth Kalom Award


Violet Dine (BFA ‘20), Nike Evolution
Irene Bychinsky Bendler Award in Design


Elijah Haswell (BFA ‘22), People of Pride: 50+ LGBTQ+ Americans Who Changed The World
John McCluney Memorial Award


Leila Mullison (BFA ‘21), Masc
Guy Palazzola Memorial Award


Sophie Hochwald (BFA ‘20), Suit of Straws
Irene Bychinsky Bendler Award in Design


Maggie Wiebe (BFA ‘22), 10:31 PM
Guy Palazzola Memorial Award


Mitchell Rits (BFA ‘23), Petuh Watch
William Carter Award


Sofia Stark (BFA ‘20), Kennedy in Self-Care
Robert D. Richards Memorial Award


Zhuofan Ma (BFA ‘22), ModernLight
Irene Bychinsky Bendler Award in Design


Dan Draper (BFA ‘23), Cronus' Armour
Arden Fate Memorial Award


Madelyn VerVaecke (BFA ‘21), Duck & Billy
William A. Lewis Watercolor Prize


Sophie Hullinger (BFA ‘20), The Nacirema
Robert D. Richards Memorial Award

The 2019 Undergraduate Juried Exhibition is on view through December 15, 2019.

Reception/award winner photographs by Nick Beardslee, other images courtesy of artists.