News & Events


A&D at ArtPrize 2011

August 25, 2011

Over the past six months, the University of Michigan School of Art & Design and the Grand Rapids arts organization SiTE:LAB have been collaborating on creating site-specific events in the former Junior Achievement Building, culminating in ArtPrize (September 21 to October 9, 2011).

Often described as a radically open experiment in public art, ArtPrize is an annual three-week competition in which art works are displayed at more than 150 venues throughout downtown Grand Rapids.  Approximately $500,000 in prize money is awarded on the basis of public voting.

Within the dramatic open-span spaces of the 25,000 square foot A&D and SiTE:LAB venue at 2 East Fulton Street, eleven national and international artists have created large-scale works in response to the building’s intriguing interior landscape. 

Participating artists, selected by SiTE:LAB founder Professor Paul Amenta and A&D faculty member Elona Van Gent, include:

Ericka Beckman
Anya Belkina
David Bowen
Alois Kronschlaeger
Loren Madsen
Meghan Reynard and Patrick Ethen
Nick Tobier and Juliane Stiegele
Shinji Turner-Yamamoto

For more details about the collaboration, visit or .

The A&D Artists and Designers Participating in ArtPrize

This year, nearly 1,600 artists from 36 countries and 43 states will be exhibiting their work at ArtPrize, including close to 30 faculty and alumni from the University of Michigan School of Art & Design:

Emir Alibasic (MFA 2010)
DeVos Place Convention Center, 303 Monroe Avenue NW

Paula Bowers (BFA 1977)
Grand Rapids Public Museum, 272 Pearl ST NW

Sheryl Budnik (BFA 1969)
Bar Divani, 15 Ionia Ave SW Suite 130

Richard Burns (BFA ‘75, MFA ‘77)
The B.O.B., 20 Monroe Ave NW

Heidi Dauphin (BFA 1992)
Ottawa Tavern, 151 Ottawa Ave

Rosemary Ellis (BFA 1987)
Huntington / 50 Monroe Place, 50 Monroe Avenue, NW - First & Second Floors

Alexander Fedirko (BFA 2003)
The B.O.B., 20 Monroe Ave NW

Elisabeth Foster (BFA 2002)
HopCat, 25 Ionia SW Suite 100

Carl W. Goines (BFA 2002)
Plante & Moran Building, 634 Front Ave

Helen Gotlib (BFA 2003)
Grand Rapids Public Museum, 272 Pearl ST NW

Holly Greenberg (BFA 1990)
UICA, 2 West Fulton SE

Francie Hester (BFA 1982)
Mercantile Bank of Michigan, 48 West Fulton

Dani Jeffries (BFA 1987)
Westminster Presbyterian Church, 47 Jefferson Ave. SE

Isaac Krauss (BFA 2010)
GRid 70, 70 Ionia SW

Heidi Kumao (A&D Associate Professor)
UICA, 2 West Fulton SE

Rita Mercedes Long (BFA 2009)
Van Andel Arena, 130 West Fulton

Colleen O’Rourke (BFA 1992)
Fountain Street Church , 24 Fountain Street NE

Amanda Orr (BFA pending 2014)
Mojo’s Dueling Piano Bar & Restaurant, 180 Monroe Ave.

Keith Pakkala (BFA 2002)
Minty Keen, 125 Ottawa NW Suite 170

Justin Palermo (BFA 2001 &  AB 2001)
Grand Rapids Public Museum, 272 Pearl ST NW

Laurel J Prafke (BFA 1987)
Riverfront Cafe. 235 Fulton W.

Page Redford (BFA 2009)
Peck Building, 40 Monroe Center

Dylan Strzynski (BFA 2001)
Amway Grand Plaza Hotel, 187 Monroe Ave. NW

Nick Tilma (BFA pending 2015)
Mercantile Bank of Michigan 48 West Fulton

Nick Tobier (A&D Associate Professor) and Juliane Stiegele
Site:Lab + U of M School of Art & Design, 2 East Fulton Street

Cathy VanVoorhis (MFA 1986)
Waters Building, 161 Ottawa Ave. NW, Suite 104

Mary Lou Webster (BSDES 1971)
Carpe Diem Volleyball, 1010 Front Ave NW

Rebecca Zeiss  (BFA 1979)
San Chez Bistro & Cafe, 38 W Fulton

A&D at ArtPrize 2011

SiTE:LAB Founder Paul Amenta with installation in progress of Alois Kronschlaeger’s Spire