Skip to Content

Get Out the Vote

Empowering the Women’s Vote

2020 gotv header 02

September 15 – December 1, 2020


Hybrid Event

Stamps Gallery
201 South Division Street
Ann Arbor, Michigan 48104


Open to the public
Free of charge
Watch Video

2020 marks the centennial of the ratification of the 19th Amendment, granting women the right to vote in 1920. It was the first legislation for women’s voting rights. Not until the passage of the Voting Rights Act in 1965 were voting rights of ALL women protected and enforced, and intimidation tactics progressively eliminated. The Get Out the Vote: Empowering the Women’s Vote poster campaign, organized by AIGA in partnership with the League of Women Voters, commemorates this milestone. A core group of invited women of design submitted the first 65 non-partisan posters, to launch the initiative with their vision and voices. Through the posters, these women joined forces to collectively contribute to dialogue in design and society. This moment in history is an incredible opportunity to catalyze women in design, voting rights, citizenship, community, and diversity. The collection aspires to not only support present day voter participation, but to also serve as a backdrop for discourse and examination of the history of voting rights and women’s fight for equality. The poster initiative continues at aiga​.org/vote, where AIGA members can contribute posters to motivate the American public to register and turn out to vote in the 2020 general election, as well as local elections to come. Posters are available for free download online.

The Get Out the Vote: Empowering the Women’s Vote exhibition at Stamps Gallery includes a selection of the 65 posters chosen by a committee of Stamps faculty, students, and staff including Nicholas Dowgwillo, Eloise Janssen, Keesa V. Johnson, Francis Nunoo-Quarcoo, Endi Poskovic, Destini Riley, and Stamps Gallery. The exhibition includes posters by Audrey Bennett, Johanna Björk, Karen Cheng, Emily Comfort, Jenny El-Shamy, Dinah Fried, Karin Fong, Anne M. Giangiulio, Annabelle Gould, Brockett Horne, Meena Khalili, nicole killian + shawné michaelain holloway, Karen Kurycki, Marty Maxwell Lane, Zuzana Licko, Ana Llorente, Beatriz Lozano, Kelly Salchow MacArthur, Rebeca Mendez, Lana Rigsby, Kaleena Sales, Renee Seward, Laurel Shoemaker, Nancy Sklolos, Hannah Smotrich, Shanti Sparrow, Jennifer Sterling, Fearn de Vicq, Cymone Wilder, and Lynne Yun.

Organized by Kelly Salchow MacArthur and Nancy Skolos in partnership with AIGA and the League of Women Voters.

Related Events


Stamps Gallery

201 South Division Street
Ann Arbor, Michigan 48104

  • Sunday: Closed
  • Monday: Closed
  • Tuesday: Closed
  • Wednesday: 11:00 am – 5:00 pm
  • Thursday: 11:00 am – 7:00 pm
  • Friday: 11:00 am – 5:00 pm
  • Saturday: 11:00 am – 5:00 pm